• Pro-Vaccine Nurse of 22 Years Defends Her Family After Mumps Outbreak Among Her Fully Vaccinated Family as She was Wrongly Accused of Not Vaccinating

Kami Altenberg Schaal has been a professional nurse for 22 years. She is pro-vaccine. She gets the flu shot every year as a requirement for her employment, and she vaccinates her family. Her entire family has been vaccinated with the MMR vaccine, and yet 4 out of 5 members of her family came down with the mumps. Her daughter is a freshman in college, and got the mumps from school. She isolated her daughter for 5 days ("I know how to isolate a patient, I'm a nurse"), and reported her case to the department of health. All the members of her family also got booster shots of the MMR vaccine. 17 days after her daughter's exposure, her husband and son woke up with mumps. After notifying the health department, Kami notified her son's school district as well. What happened next was apparently something she had not anticipated. Even though her family was fully vaccinated and she followed all the proper medical protocols for dealing with the mumps, many people in her community began to blame her, including some of her medical colleagues, for not vaccinating their children (even though she had!) Finally, Kami herself woke up with the mumps. She had been tested and was supposedly immune. She had taken the booster. But she ended up getting the mumps anyway. "I literally lost my mind. I called the department of health nurse, and I said, 'This is absolute craziness. What is happening?' And she said that they are learning in the trenches. 'We don't know what we don't know.'" The department of health nurse was required to send out another letter to the school district, so Kami asked the nurse if she could "put the truth" in the letter to the school district that her son was vaccinated, because she feared being blamed in error, once again, for not vaccinating her children. The nurse allegedly replied "no." "They will not put that in