• Medical Doctor Responds to New York Times Article Attacking Vaccine Skeptics

The lead New York Times (NYT) editorial today is titled, “Know The Enemy.” According to the NYT, the “enemy” is anyone who questions the safety and efficacy of any vaccine. I guess that makes me the enemy. I thought I was a board-certified physician trying to read and decipher the research on vaccines to help guide my patients on how to make their best health care decisions.

Read full story...

Great article by Dr. Brownstein!! I was born in 1939. Probably got a couple of childhood vaccines somewhere along the line but that was it for the rest of my life. I had chicken pox, measles, mumps, whooping cough, and German measles. Bed rest, fluids, and letting the immune system do it's job was the cure.

In my opinion, the very act of mixing with other children at play and at school gives our immune systems their first "awakening". When I had my children, my six year old son came down with the chicken pox. Instead of keeping my four year old daughter away from him (I knew she'd get it anyway), I allowed her to play games with him on his bed. I think I read somewhere that the time of exposure to "eruption" was two weeks. Yep! Two weeks later she came down with the pox. Both sailed through with their individual bouts with flying colors.

I have a relative who's 23 year old daughter is autistic. When this subject came to the forefront quite a few years ago, I brought it up to her mother and father about the link to vaccinations in babies. They said she was "born normal". They said she started to walk and talk at the usual times and was a bright little child.